Installing Flash Media Server 4.5 on Ubuntu 11.04

A few weeks ago FMS 4.5 was released. While reading through the system requirements it stated once again that it only supported running on Windows, Redhat and CentOS. Unfortunately for me I only develop on a mac and a ubuntu machine. In the past I had to use a script from this blog post to get FMS 3.5 installed.

So I decided to give it a try. To see if I could in fact get the server up and running on my ubuntu machine. To my surprise, the standard install scripts worked flawlessly.

Here are the steps:

  1. Download the development server
  2. unzip FlashMediaDevServer_4_5_all.zip
  3. cd [path_to_unzipped_files]/linux
  4. tar -zxvf FlashMediaServer4.5_x64.tar.gz
  5. cd FMS_4_5_0_r297
  6. sudo ./installFMS
  7. follow the onscreen instructions
  8. point your browser to your machines IP address.
发表评论

